Let’s wait, shall we? Monday, Feb. 4th

Have you ever gotten asked if you’re a virgin? Kind of an embarrassing subject to bring up huh? Welllll, since it’s the LOVE month, I’m just gonna go for it! lol  I know whenever I’ve heard anyone bring it up, it’s always like in a whisper voice and everyone stops to listen in. Idk about the guys, but I assume they add in a lot of teasing.  I mean, most people my age don’t consider being a virgin very cool, and it’s certainly seems weird that someone is confident enough about it that they stand up and say it in a crowd (or.. ahem.. on facebook lol).  But all awkwardness aside, I hope it encourages you to consider a few things…

 

I’ve decided a while back, that in my own life, no matter what, I would wait until marriage.  It’s mostly to honor God, but I also want to show my husband that I chose to wait to share my love with only him.  I’ve always been told to guard my heart and be careful, even if the guy is really sweet, cute, and caring. To me it’s totally worth waiting for that one special guy that God is preparing for me. In Proverbs 28 its says that a “faithful person will be richly blessed.”  I just love the fact that there’s someone out there who can look at me with the same pure heart, and who will love me for me, not what he can get from me. 

 

For the most part, girls are emotional, and guys are physical.  If a guy wants to do physical stuff, sometimes girls will bend their morals and standards so they can feel loved. I mean, what girl doesn’t want to feel special and loved?  The problem is, one thing leads to another.  How many girls out there have said, “I’ll just kiss, and that’s it”, but the next thing you know, you’re doing a lot more… and then later it’s with someone else?  And the more people you are sexually active with, the more of your heart you give away (even until it’s numb), and it’s a lot harder to give your husband your full amount of love. 

 

So what about if you’ve already given yourself away?  1 John 1:9 says: “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” Did you see that?  It says PURIFY.  Not everyone is fortunate enough to learn early on about purity, and some of us have had things taken from us and feel like ‘it’s too late, so why bother?’ (purity is in your heart btw, so it cannot be taken from you if you’re not willing!) That’s what’s so cool about God.  He meets us exactly where we’re at, but we have to choose Him (become a Christian), and then will give us a pure heart to start over again.  It’s really worth the wait. 🙂

 

Parents and adults reading this: Thanks for being understanding of what’s brought up in NMM’s. Some of you may feel like it’s too much, but these are real things teen girls are facing today and my goal is to help them as best I can. 

 

RULES FOR NO MAKEUP MONDAYS:

1) Take the day off from makeup

2) Dress up, do your hair, so your beauty isn’t hidden behind a scrubby look

3) Be proud of the natural beauty that you are

4) Give God glory today!

5) GUYS – Appreciate! 🙂

 

Let me know if you want to be tagged. You can check out my other devotions posted in my blog @ nomakeupmondays.wordpress.com.  Don’t forget to ‘Like’ the NO MAKEUP MONDAYS Page on facebook! NMM’s are written weekly by myself Savannah, and my mom, Corina

Leave a Reply

