Gotta Have It!

Lots of people were in the big city of Anchorage last week.  That usually means 3 things… food, movies, and shopping!! 😀  I went for a week and had a ton of fun running around.  It’s funny when you’re in the vill, you don’t really think about buying anything, except snacks. haha But when you’re walking around in the mall, all of a sudden your ‘needs’ list is never-ending! 😉

 

Girls tend to fall into materialism…especially when they walk into Forever 21, like me last week.  “That shirt is super cute, look at those those earrings, and I HAVE to have those shoes!!!” Although its not bad wanting to look good, I have to admit, I can get a liiiitle carried away.  For me, makeup is a BIG one. I’d rather have good makeup than nice jeans or sweet shoes.  It has recently gotten out of control, even for the ‘No Makeup Monday girl’.  :/  The last few weeks, I would look in the mirror and put a little more on, then later do “touch ups” and put more on, etc.  I thought I had a really good excuse, I was trying to look good for a guy (even though he likes me better without it. smh). haha  Well my mom got super mad last week because I kept adding makeup when we needed to leave and she grounded me from makeup for a few days (good one mom).  At first I was pretty upset, but after the second day I didn’t even have the desire to wear it, even during my worst breakout!  Big fat reality check. 

 

It made me stop and think that instead of focusing on all the stuff, we should focus on long-lasting things in life. Like family, relationships with people, and of course, our relationship with God. Things like makeup, clothes, shoes (whether Prada, Uggs, or Air Jordans), can’t make you happy.  I know it gives us pleasure, but it doesn’t fill your heart with the same kind of real happiness God or anyone else can give you.  Why love things, when they can’t love you back?  

 

VERSE: “Don’t collect for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal. But collect for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves don’t break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6:19-21

 

RULES FOR NO MAKEUP MONDAYS:

1) Take the day off from makeup

2) Dress up, do your hair, so your beauty isn’t hidden behind a scrubby look

3) Be proud of the natural beauty that you are

4) Give God glory today!

5) GUYS – Appreciate! 🙂

 

Let me know if you want to be tagged. You can check out my other devotions posted in my blog @ nomakeupmondays.wordpress.com.  Don’t forget to ‘Like’ the NO MAKEUP MONDAYS Page on facebook! NMM’s are written weekly by myself Savannah, and my mom, CorinaImage

Leave a Reply

